McKittrick, Crosby lead AJ honors

-A A +A
By Robert Howey

KERSHAW – Andrew Jackson High School seniors Dalton McKittrick and Makaylen Crosby were tabbed as Most Athletic among the AJ 2018 senior class superlatives.


The Volunteers’ 2018 athletic awards showed why both senior sports stars garnered the honor.

McKittrick, who has signed to play football at North Greenville University, earned the AJ football MVP. An all-region and all-state selection, McKittrick also played in the annual North-South All-Star football game in Myrtle Beach last December.

Crosby, a tri-sport star for the Lady Vols, who will play volleyball with Claflin University, earned the volleyball team’s MVP and also received awards for Kills Team Leader and Block Kills Team Leader.

The AJ volleyball ace reaped all-state and all-region and was presented an AJ volleyball Leadership Award.

She was the AJ girls basketball Defensive Award winner and earned the Volunteer Award. She was also an all-region pick for the Region IV-AA champion girls basketball team, which finished 17-4.

Crosby, an AJ field events standout in the shot put and discus, was the Lady Volunteers track Volunteer Award recipient.

Kalab Haven, an AJ football and wrestling stalwart, was honored as the Volunteers wrestling MVP. He posted a 43-1 record as the Class A-AA 160-pound state champion.

The AJ wrestlers reaped all-state honors and also received the AJ football Energy Award.


MVP – Dalton McKittrick

Competitive Spirit – Gavin Blackmon

Toughness Award – Bailey Johnson

Community Outreach – Hunter Haven

Energy Award – Kalab Haven

Coach Faulkenberry Hardest Worker Award – Avery Funderburk

All-Region – Gavin Blackmon, C.J. Collins, Isaiah Parker, Bailey Johnson, Jamie Hinson, Dalton McKittrick

All-State – Dalton McKittrick

North-South All-Star – Dalton McKittrick


Kills Team Leader – Makaylen Crosby

Block Kills Team Leader – Makaylen Crosby

Digs Team Leader – Caroline Wrenn

Assists Team Leader – Hannah Vincent

Aces Team Leader – Hannah Vincent

Leadership Awards – Makaylen Crosby, Hannah Vincent, Lyndsay Taylor, Savannah Small, Raegen Brewer

All-Region – Makaylen Crosby, Hannah Vincent

All-State – Makaylen Crosby


Most Valuable Cheerleader – Abby Lane Polson

Volunteer Award – Kenley Samuel

Most Improved – Onesty Bell


Most Outstanding Wrestler – Kalab Haven

Volunteer Award – Isaiah Camp

Most Improved Wrestler – Tyleik Elder

Coach Faulkenberry Leadership Award – Hunter Haven

160-pound state champion – Kalab Haven (43-1 record)

HSSR All-State –Kalab Haven

Girls Basketball

MVP – Danielle Ussery

Offensive Award – Danielle Ussery

Defensive Award – Makaylen Crosby

Volunteer Award – Makaylen Crosby

Hustle Award – Raegen Brewer

Co-Coaches Award – Osha Black, Caroline Wrenn

All-Region – Makaylen Crosby, Raegen Brewer

Region IV-AA Player of the Year – Danielle Ussery

Region IV-AA Coach of the Year – Sha’Ron Robertson

All-State – Danielle Ussery

Boys Basketball

MVP – Jamie Hinson

Coaches Award – Jalen Robinson

Hustle Award – Darrion Wright

Most Improved Player – Griffin Gardner

All-Region – Jamie Hinson

Girls Soccer

MVP – Sarah Sowell

Coaches Award – Morgan McDowell

Offensive Player of the Year – Taylor Lundy

Defensive Player of the Year – Natalie Hinson

Most Improved Player – Rebecca Pardue

Rookie of the Year – Bella Caldwell

Hustle Award – Zoe Helms

All-Region – Taylor Lundy, Sarah Sowell, Natalie Hinson, Santana Reed, Kenley Kirk

Boys Soccer

MVP – Mason McKittrick

Alvin Randy Catoe Best All-Around Soccer Player – Mason McKittrick

Volunteer Pride Award – Hunter Haven

Co-Defensive Award – Tyler Williams, Avery Funderburk

Most Improved Player – Will Cauthen, Rhett Bowers

All-State – Jared Truesdale

All-Region – Jared Truesdale, Cam Vincent, Mason McKittrick, Tyler Williams, Rhett Bowers


Co-MVPs – Savannah Small, Rebecca Price

Leading Hitter – Maddie Baker

Outstanding Performance – Kinley Killough, Morgan Eason, Carley Sims

All-Region – Savannah Small, Maddie Baker, Kinley Killough, Morgan Eason, Carley Sims

All-State – Savannah Small

North-South All-Star – Savannah Small

Girls Track

MVP – Niyana Jones

Volunteer Award – Makaylen Crosby

Most Improved Player – LaKyra McIlwain

Rookie of the Year – Aa’Kasha Nivens, Aniyah Davis

All-Region – Niyana Jones, Osha Black

All-State – Niyana Jones, Osha Black

Boys Track

MVP – Darrion Wright

Volunteer Award – Bryson Ussery

Coaches Award – Gavin Barfield

Rookie of the Year – Tyliek Elder, Christian Brown

All-Region – KaKyle McIlwain, Darrion Wright

All-State – LaKyle McIlwain, Darrion Wright


MVP – William Wrape

Golden Arm Pitching Award – Griffin Gardner

Most Improved Player Award – Connor Killough

Coaches Award – Isaiah Parker

All-Region – William Wrape, Brett Percival, Will Hudson


MVP – Mason Sowell

Coaches Award – Raegen Brewer

Most Improved – Jordan Collins

All-Region – Mason Sowell

All-State – Mason Sowell