LDB salutes standouts

-A A +A

Top players, teams, coaches are honored

By Robert Howey



Lancaster Dixie Baseball honored top players, coaches and teams at the youth baseball league’s annual season-ending awards at Gandy Field on Saturday, June 9.

Eric Hall, who played for the Watts Tax Service Yankees, earned a pair of honors in the Dixie Boys league, ages 13-14.

Hall was named the Dixie Boys MVP and also took home the home run award with four. He was presented a $100 gift certificate from United Forklift for his four long balls.

The league’s coveted sportsmanship award, presented by the Matt Blackwell Foundation, was presented to Blake Langley of the Watts Tax Service Yankees. Christian Sinclair, who played for the A1 Fence Company Rangers, reaped the Dixie Boys rookie of the year award.

The coaching staff of the year was awarded to Stevenson-Weir White Sox which included Corey Carnes, Brayden Carnes, Eddie Lee and Roger Blakeley.

The Rapid Signs Cardinals won the city championship, while the Watts Tax Service Yankees won the regular-season crown.

The Ozone league, ages 11-12, honored Evan Hardin, of the Gillis Used Parts Red Sox, as the MVP.

Dylan Sistare, who played for the Lancaster Pawn and Jewelry Diamondbacks, captured the Ozone home run award with nine. Sergio Vasquez, of the Red Sox, won the rookie of the year. United Forklift Mets’ John Cauthen was the sportsmanship recipient.

The coaching staff of the year was presented to Gillis Used Parts Red Sox. The staff includes Sonny Hardin, Toby Taylor and Lane Small. The Red Sox won the city championship and the regular-season champion is the Lancaster Pawn and Jewelry Diamondbacks.

The AAA, ages 9-10, saluted Landon Jordan of the Thomas and Betts Dodgers as its MVP.

Ian McGaughy of the McGaughy Tax Cardinals reaped the sportsmanship award and his Cardinals’ teammate Alex Griffin was presented the rookie of the year.

The Lancaster County Natural Gas Angels won the coaching staff of the year and included Larry Small, Brad Small and Phillip Mickles.

The McGaughy Tax Cardinals won the city championship and the Thomas and Betts Dodgers captured the regular-season title.

The AAA coaches, on behalf of the league, presented the University of South Carolina Lancers’ baseball team a check for $1,000 in memory of Marty Boone.

The presentation was made for the second straight year in support of Lancers’ baseball.

The AA league, ages 7-8, honored J.P. Cunningham of the Buford Child Dare Development Cubs as the MVP.

Kevin Wooden, who played for the Buford Child Care Development Cubs, earned the AA home run award with two.

Justin Outen, of the First Citizens Angels, reaped the sportsmanship award.

 The Advanced Process Piping Braves’ Brady Jackson won the rookie of the year.

The Hall Construction Yankees, who won the AA regular-season and city championship, earned the coaching staff of the year.

The Yankees’ coaches are Brock Kennington, Troy Helms, Marty Walters and Andy Williams.

In the A league, ages 5-6 development league, the Founders Federal Credit Union Braves won the tournament championship.