Kershaw honors its civic leaders

-A A +A

A host of deserving people were in the spotlight at the Kershaw Chamber of Commerce’s annual banquet at the Kershaw Country Club.
The awards are a way to honor those who are making a positive impact on business, industry and life in the southern Lancaster County town.
Beverly Timmons was presented with the chamber’s highest award. Previously known as the Citizen of the Year award, it is now called the President’s Award.
The award is presented to a Kershaw citizen who has significantly contributed to the betterment of the community.
Timmons is active with KARE, Youth Serve and the Kershaw Spring-a-Thon. She’s had a key role in establishing the Haile Gold Mine Playground at Stevens Park, as well as the renovation of the 18-acre park.
“Beverly is outstanding and does tremendous work to benefit the people here,” said Kershaw Chamber President Gary Sowell. “She has a genuine love for Kershaw and puts it into action with what she does.”
A new award, the John T. Stevens Award, named for the town’s founding father, was presented to Kershaw Elementary teacher Reo King, who devoted 30-plus years to education.
King was saluted for her work with area youth, making an impact in a host of different roles.
The award, which recognizes one who has done the most to advance the programs of the town and Kershaw Chamber, is given in memory of Stevens, a longtime supporter and member of the Kershaw Chamber.
King was saluted for her work as director of the Mount Calvary summer outreach program. She is also a dedicated church pastor, who drives the church bus to bring children to church each Sunday.
“It seems she is always doing something for the youth of Kershaw,” Sowell said.
Nell Robinson, owner of Thomas Drug Store, was selected as Business Person of the Year, which recognizes a Kershaw Chamber member whose business and community improvement contributions in the past 12 months have significantly impacted the town.
“She’s supportive of the chamber and does an outstanding job of reaching out to the community to make a difference in a time of need,” Sowell said.
Sheila Hinson was honored with the President’s Board of Directors Award. This honor is chosen solely by Sowell to honor the person he deems has contributed the most to the chamber, as well as town functions and events.
“Sheila does a lot of behind-the-scenes work for the Kershaw Chamber and handles it well,” Sowell said. “No task is too small for her and she’s a big reason why our events run so smooth throughout the year.”
Good Samaritan certificates were presented to Ann Hayes Phillips and Becky Dunn. The duo was honored for their support roles at town functions. The award is given to non-chamber members who go above and beyond to promote Kershaw.
“They are always eager to help no matter what you ask them to do,” Sowell said.
Those dedicated folks are deserving of these awards and make a difference in making Kershaw a better place to live.