Warriors soccer leads IL spring sports honors

-A A +A

State runner-up team

By Robert Howey


INDIAN LAND – A stellar Indian Land High spring sports season, highlighted by the Warriors’ soccer state title run, drew the royal blue and gold spotlight on Monday, May 26 in the IL gym.

The 20-6 Warriors’ soccer team, which played for the Class AA state crown for the third straight season after winning the Class AA Upper State title in a three-peat, took a final bow.

Garrett Gerdes, an all-region and all-state selection, eanred the Warriors’ soccer MVP.

Jordan Szustwal, an all-region pick, reaped the Offensive MVP, while all-state and all-region keeper Jake Barton earned the Defensive MVP Award.

Senior Zac Patterson was presented the Warrior Award.

Matthew Medlock also garnered all-state and all-region laurels, while Henry Suvillaga was also named to the all-region team.

Shalyn Dougherty, a recipient of one of the four IL Athletic Booster Club’s $500 scholarships, led the Lady Warriors soccer honors.

Dougherty, an all-region and all-state pick, was named the Offensive MVP.

She will also play in the annual North-South All-Star match.

The ILABC Scholarship winners included Manny McCord, George Morris and Bridget Sampson

Other IL awards:

Girls soccer

Offensive MVP – Shalyn Dougherty

Defensive MVP – Kelsey Groll

Unsung Hero – Bailey Penegar

Warrior Award – Babs Marshall

All-State – Shalyn Dougherty, Katherine Kilroy

All-Region – Emma Gladu, Kelsey Groll, Katherine Kilroy, Shalyn Dougherty

North-South All-Star – Shalyn Dougherty

Jayvee Hustle Award – Heather Stroup

Jayvee Coaches Award – Kaliee Erwin

Jayvee Warrior Award – Kelsey Long

Jayvee boys soccer

Defensive Player of the Year – Dillon Keusler

Offensive Player of the Year – Coleman Theodore

Warrior Award – Ryan McMinn


Offensive Award – Mike Webb

Defensive Award – Chris Cantrell

Pitching Award – Jake Dyer

Warrior Award – Chuck Webb, Lane Perkins

All-Region – Chris Cantrell, Jake Dyer, Mike Webb, Derian Gueldner

Jayvee Defensive Award – Matt Murray

Jayvee Offensive Award – Travis Floyd

Jayvee Warrior Award – Richie Wilkinson


Offensive Player of the Year – Alli Yarborough

Best Defensive Player – Kayla Price

Most Improved Player – Rachel Sadak

Warrior Award – Dakota Erwin

All-State – Kayla Price, Alli Yarborough

All-Region – Kayla Price, Alli Yarborough, Daniella Wilson

Jayvee Player of the Year – Danyelle McCorkle

Jayvee Defensive Player of the Year – Rachel Sadak

Jayvee Warrior Award – Adrianna Mosher


Most Outstanding Golfer – Jared Long

Most Improved Golfer – Louis Lambert, Nick Shaheen

All-State – Jared Long

All-Region – Jared Long

Boys track

Runner of the Year – Manny Delgado

Most Improved – John Gregory

Coaches Award – Malcolm Reed

Rookie of the Year – Brandon Sellers

Best All-Around – Austin St. John

All-Region – Manny Delgado, John Gregory, Brandon Sellers

Field Events – Kace Faulkner

Warrior Award – Albert Jackson

Girls track

Runner of the Year – Morgan Engstrom

Most Improved – Hannah Cook

Coaches Award – Malaysia Reed

Rookie of the Year – Mykayla Wallace

Best All-Around – Ty Miller

All-Region – Mikayla Wallace, Desaira Benjamin, Morgan Ingstrom

All-Track – Mykayla Wallace

Field Events – Dasaira Benjamin