Warriors honor ace IL athletes

-A A +A

Indian Land sports banquet

By Robert Howey




INDIAN LAND – Indian Land High School senior stars Breyon Williams and Mariah Williams earned top honors at the annual Warriors’ all-sports banquet on Monday night in the school gym.

Breyon Williams was named the IL Male Athlete of the Year, while Mariah Williams was selected as the IL Female Athlete of the Year.

Breyon Williams led the Warriors’ football team to a 9-2 finish and was selected the Warriors’ Most Outstanding Back. The All-Region IV-AA pick was also The Lancaster News’ Player of the Year for the 2010 football season.

Mariah Williams, a three-time pick as The Lancaster News Player of the Year for girls basketball, received the Heart of a Warrior Award. The All-Region IV-AA pick also played in the annual North-South All-Star game in March at North Myrtle Beach High School.

Indian Land also presented the Ultimate Warrior Awards to top graduates Hannah Harris and Travis Butler.

Harris, a standout in basketball and soccer, is the 2011 IL valedictorian. Butler, an all-region pick in track and football’s Most Improved Player, is the 2011 salutatorian.

The Indian Land Booster Club Scholarships, sponsored by Showmars, were presented to Breyon Williams, Mariah Williams, Butler and Harris.

Following are the awards:


MVP – Nick Retter

MVP Offense – Nick Outen

MVP Defense – Jonathan Rowe

Warrior Award – Michael Rodriguez

All-State – Denis Killoran, Jonathan Rowe

All-Region – Jonathan Rowe, Denis Killoran, Hunter Kitchen, Nick Outen, Nick Retter

Jayvee Offensive Player of the Year – Justin Penn

Jayvee Defensive Plyer of the Year – Mason Mullis

Junior Warrior Award – Shea Rodgers

Girls Soccer

MVP – Julia Greiner

Warrior Award – Hannah Shoemaker

Unsung Award – Kayla Christian

Most Improved – Hannah McGinn

All-Region – Julia Greiner, Hannah Harris

Jayvee MVP – Kelsey Groll

Jayvee Warrior Award – Kayla Groll

Most Improved – Babs Marshall

Boys Track

MVP – Rondreas Truesdale

Best All-Around – Travon Gasque

Heart Award – Travis Butler

Most Improved – James Gregory

All-Region – Jarrell Robinson (2), Rondreas Truesdale (3), Travis Butler, James Gregory

Girls Track

MVP – Destiny Todd

Best All-Around – Lindsay Johnson

Heart Award – Sara Jordan

Most Improved – Damonique McClure

All-Region – Lindsay Johnson, Damonique McClure


MVP – Parker Whittaker

Most Improved – George Morris

Warrior Spirit – Clay Holcomb


Best Offensive Player – Alli Yarborough

Best Defensive Player – Kelly Pauls

Top Pitcher – Kayla Price

Warrior Award – Haley Vachon

Most Improved – Kelsi Funk

All-Region – Kayla Price, Haley Vachon, Kelly Pauls

Jayvee Coaches Award – Mary McGungle

Jayvee Most Improved Award – Leonie Presch

Jayvee Warrior Pride Award – Madison Garris


Most Improved – Jake Dyer

Warrior Award – Korry Alvey

Outfield Tomahawk Award – Connor Butler

Infield Spear Award – Drew Williams

All-Region – Drew Williams, Chris Cantrell

Jayvee Most Improved Award – Daylen Byerly

Jayvee Warrior Award – Mark Wright

Jayvee Tomahawk Award – Dylan Steen


Most Outstanding – Rondreas Truesdale

Most Improved – Michael Bryant

Warrior Award – Marc Morris

Coaches Award – Devin Curtsinger

Most Pins – Rondreas Truesdale

Highest GPA – Jonathan Rowe

All-Region – Rondreas Truesdale, Marc Morris, George Morris

Girls Basketball

Heart of a Warrior Award – Mariah Williams

Defensive Award – Hannah Harris

Most Improved – Kelsey Young

Hustle Award – Brittany Montgomery

All-Region – Hannah Harris, Mariah Williams

Dedication Award – Vickie Harris

Jayvee MVP – Shaylan Daughtrey

Jayvee Most Improved – Mi’Aisa McCarter

Jayvee Hustle Award – Osha McIlwain, Shaylan Daughtrey

Boys Basketball

MVP – Terrell Rogers

Defensive Player of the Year – Jarrell Robinson

Hustle Award – Hayden Sawyer

Most Improved – Rashid McGriff

Rookie of the Year – Darnell Rogers

Sixth Man Award – Cameron Davis, Marty Cauthen

All-Region – Terrell Rogers, Jarrell Robinson

Jayvee Offensive Player of the Year – Tyler Watson

Jayvee Defensive Player of the Year – Dallas Allison

Jayvee Most Improved Player – James Gregory


MVP – Hannah Shoemaker

Most Improved – April Ciccone

Warrior Spirit Award – Julia Griener

All-Region – Hannah Shoemaker, Julia Griener, Kim Koeing

Boys Cross Country

MVP – John Cutrone

Coaches Award – James Gregory

Warrior Award – Eric Augeson

Spirit Award – Matthew Hajek


Girls Cross Country

MVP – Sarah Jordan

Coaches Award – Destiny Todd

Warrior Award – Courtney Whitten

Spirit Award – Anna Young



MVP – Jenna Carroll

Most Improved – Jessica Floyd

Hustle Award – Savannah Adams

All-Region – Shelby McConnell, Jenna Carroll

Jayvee Hustle Award – Babs Marshall

Jayvee Most Improved – Ericka Strange

Jayvee Warrior Award – Kelsi Funk


Most Improved – Marie Tumaniec

Most Spirited – Alexis Barjona

Best Tumbler – Rebecca Jette

Jayvee Warrior Award – Hannah Chapman

Jayvee Leadership Award – Kelly Capri

Jayvee Coaches Award – Altazia Barber

Jayvee Spirit Award – Kelsi Groll


MVP – Rondreas Truesdale

Gary Moore Offensive Line Award – A.J. Gordon

Most Outstanding Running Back – Breyon Williams

Most Outstanding Receiver – Jarrell Robinson

Most Outstanding Defensive Lineman – Marc Morris

Most Outstanding Linebacker – Johnny Mace

Most Outstanding Defensive Back – Reggie Wyatt

Most Improved – Travis Butler

Coaches Award – Daniel Helms

All-Region – Rondreas Truesdale, Jarrell Robinson, A.J. Gordon, Johnny

Mace, Daniel Helms, Reggie Wyatt, Marc Morris, Breyon Williams

Jayvee Most Promising Offensive Player – Manny McCord

Jayvee Most Promising Defensive Player – Zac Patterson

Jayvee Most Improved – Dalton McGuirt

Jayvee Hustle Award – Joyner Mason