Tri-County coaches salute three Vols

-A A +A

Week 5 play

By Robert Howey

 RICHBURG – Three Andrew Jackson High School football standouts earned week five recognition for their play in the Volunteers’ 20-19 road loss to Class AA rival North Central High School on Friday, Sept. 27.

The AJ honorees included junior quarterback Kolby Whitley (offensive player), senior linebacker Jared Hayes (defensive player) and senior kicker Dale Crawford (special teams player of the week).

Whitley ran for 59 yards on 17 carries, a 3.4-yard average, and was 15 of 29 passing for 222 yards and three touchdowns. He had 281 yards total offense and aided in on three scores.

Hayes racked up 11 tackles, two assists, an interception and a tackle for loss against the Knights.

Crawford drilled three punts for 92 yards, a 30.6 average, with one kick inside the 20.

Lewisville players reaped the other Division II honors including P.J. Lucas (offensive lineman, 91 percent grade and three knockdowns) along with Parker Cox (defensive lineman, 11 tackles – eight primary, three assists), two quarterback sacks and five tackles for loss.

The Andrew Jackson honorable mention included Mason Kirkley (defensive lineman). Kirkley had six tackles – four tackles for loss and two sacks.

Indian Land honorable mentions were Manny McCord (offensive player), Austin Gordon (defensive player), Jacob Williams (offensive lineman), Brandon Sellers (defensive lineman) and Shea Rodgers (special teams).

McCord, a senior, made five catches for 80 yards, a touchdown, with 182 total yards, including special teams returns. Gordon generated eight tackles and Williams graded 85 percent in the offensive line.

Sellers posted four tackles and a tackle for loss. Rodgers, as the IL kicker, was 1-1 on extra points, with two punts for 100 yards (50-yard average). He also had three touchbacks and kicked two field goals, 25 and 37 yards.

Lewisville honorable mentions are Tony Gaston (offensive player) and Mike Hill (defensive player).

York County Class AAAA players dominated the Division I awards.

The winners included York’s Ryan Moore and Justin Stokes of Rock Hill (offensive player), York’s Ryan McKnight (defensive player), Ryan Ennis (offensive lineman) and Patch Edwards of York (special teams).

Each week during the regular season, coaches from Chester, Lancaster and York counties meet to vote on the outstanding players in five different categories in two divisions. Nominations are made by the school and the coaches vote on the winners.