Stage now set for party primaries

-A A +A
By The Staff

S.C. Senate District 16

– Mick Mulvaney – R

– Mandy Powers-Norell – D

This seat, which covers the majority of Lancaster County and the Fort Mill area in York County, is being vacated by incumbent Republican Greg Gregory after 16 years. Gregory endorsed Mulvaney, the one-term incumbent House District 45 representative, months before filing began. Powers-Norell is making her first bid for public office, but as the city of Lancaster’s attorney, she’s no stranger to politics.

House District 45

GOP contest

– Deborah Long

– Bruce Miller

Two Indian Land residents will battle for the Republican nomination in the June 10 primary. Long is an optometrist and owner of Fort Mill Vision Center. She has lived in Indian Land for 20 years. Miller is a broker and Realtor with Prudential Carolinas Realty in Ballantyne. He lives at Sun City Carolina Lakes.

Democratic contest

– Donald Huffman

– Tony Starnes

– Fred Thomas

Huffman, a Springs Industries retiree, sought the District 45 seat in 2006, but lost to then County Councilman Alston DeVenny in the primary. Starnes is the town administrator in Kershaw. Thomas is the two-term District 2 representative on County Council. District 45 comprises the Fort Mill area in York County and Indian Land south to the city of Lancaster.

House District 44

– Jimmy Neal – D

The retired educator who has served in the House since 1999 is unopposed in his race. He represents the southern part of the county, including the towns of Kershaw and Heath Springs.

House District 65

– James ‘Jay’ Lucas – R

The Darlington attorney who has served since 1999 is unopposed this year. His distirct includes about 1,200 residents in Lancaster County.

County Sheriff

– Barry Faile – D

Faile has been endorsed by his boss, incumbent, Democrat Johnny Cauthen, who is stepping down after three terms as sheriff. Faile, Cauthen’s chief deputy, is unopposed.

County Coroner

– Mike Morris – D

Morris, who has been coroner for 28 years, is unopposed as he seeks re-election.

County Treasurer

– Dick Rowell– D

Rowell is unopposed as he seeks his third term.

County Auditor

- Cheryl Morgan – D

Morgan, who served for 20 years, is unopposed as she seeks a new term.

County Clerk of Court

– Jeff Hammond – D

Hammond is unopposed as he seeks his third term.

County Council

District 1

- Larry McCullough – R

- Alan Patterson – R

McCullough works in information technology and is a new resident of Sun City Carolina Lakes. Patterson is a partner in Brusters Ice Cream of Matthews, N.C., and a sales and service representative for Wikoff Color Corp. in Fort Mill. McCullough and Patterson are seeking the seat now held by Republican Bryan Vaughn, who isn’t seeking a second term. No Democrats filed for the seat.

District 3

- Wesley Grier – R

- Cotton Cole – D

One-term incumbent Republican Grier doesn’t face opposition in the June primary, but he’ll face Cole, an auctioneer and retired fire chief, in the November general election.

District 5

- Rudy Carter – D

Carter, who is completing his second full term after serving out an unexpired term, faces no Democratic or Republican challengers. He’s the current chairman of County Council.

District 7

- Wayne Kersey – D

- Kathy Sistare – D

Kersey is hoping to win his second term on council. Sistare, a registered nurse and first-time candidate, would be the only woman on council if she won.

* Filing for non-partisan school board seats and Lancaster City Council begins in August.

** Anyone interested in filing as an independent for local or state office has until Aug. 15 to turn in the required petitions to the county election commission.