Players to Watch

-A A +A

2011 County Prep Football

By Robert Howey



Andrew Jackson

The Vols are led by a talented receiving corps, which includes Quincy Grier, Quadarius Fair and Bobby Delly. The AJ quarterbacks include Gavin Clyburn and Ryan Phillips. The running attack is bolstered by Chris White and Jonathan Brevard along with Javaris Clyburn. Senior Stuart Barfield anchors the offense line at center along with Aaron Payne and Brett Cauthen. The AJ defense is paced by veterans William Cunningham and D.J. McIlwain, all-region picks. Tyler Denkins, all-region pick last season, gives AJ a quality performer at punter and place-kicker along with senior Brett Lucas.


The Jackets are paced by two-way star Marcus Brown, the Jackets’ 2010 MVP. Brown plays tight end and defensive end. Senior guard Eric McPhearson heads the offensive line play with Brandon Steele and James Mackey. Seniors Scott Catledge and Jay Chambers lead the backfield play along with Donnie Duncan. C.J. Blackmon guides the offense at quarterback. Senior Anthony Stephens is BHS’s top receiver. Zack Wright and Brandon Catoe are key returnees in the Jackets’ defense.

Indian Land

Senior Rondreas Truesdale triggers the Warriors’ offense at quarterback after accounting for 2,200 yards total offense and 26 touchdowns last season. Transfer Trey Eaves adds a tough weapon in the IL backfield. Marc Morris and Jimmy Locklear lead the offensive line play. Morris spears the defensive line play. Chad Thomas, who scored 56 points last season, can produce points through the IL special teams play.


Senior quarterback Shaq Williams engineers the Bruins’ attack. Senior Roy Watts, a backfield veteran, leads the rushing attack along with Terrell White.The Bruins have a solid receiving corps, led by Michael Cooper, KeAnthony Foster and Kaderrious Jackson. The LHS offensive line play is led by Jordan Hamrick along with Daquan Miller and Josh Cato. Linebackers Breshawn Reed and A.J. Williams spark the defense along with secondary veterans Shaq Elder, Montray Clyburn and KeAnthony Foster.