Night of recognition

-A A +A

Mobley, Neal, Pettus honored

By Jesef Williams

Jesef Williams


Mobley Drugs came out as the big winner at the annual Lancaster County Chamber of Commerce meeting Thursday evening, Jan. 24.

The local pharmacy took home two of the four accolades awarded at the event, which acknowledges accomplishments of the past year, while outlining the chamber’s goals for the new year.

The meeting – once again dubbed “Wine & Stein” – was held at the Lancaster Golf Club’s Fairway Room.

Linzie Batchelor, marketing director for Mobley Drugs, was named Ambassador of the Year. She’s one of several people who represent and promote the chamber at various functions.

Batchelor is also one of 22 people taking part in this year’s Leadership Lancaster program.

Shortly afterward, Mobley Drugs was named the chamber’s Small Business of the Year.

Pharmacy owner Hugh Mobley accepted the award for the business, which is touted for its high-quality employees and proactive wellness approach, among other attributes.

“The best part of it is good employees,” Mobley told the crowd. “Once you find people who care about people, the rest of it is easy.”

Saluting a statesman

Perhaps the most touching moment of the night came when the Citizenship and Service Award was announced.

Local historian and land conservationist Lindsay Pettus won the award.

Because Pettus has to remain home for several weeks following a hospital stay, he wasn’t able to attend the meeting. However, chamber members presented the award to him at home and recorded his remarks, which were played on the big screen during Thursday’s event.

“I just really thank you from the bottom of my heart,” Pettus said on the video. “I love Lancaster County. I love you. Thank you very much.”

The fourth award was Lancaster County Volunteer of the Year, which went to Jimmy Neal, whose involvement includes serving on the local United Way board of directors.

“I’m very humbled and I’m very thankful,” Neal said. “I appreciate y’all.”
Chamber matters

Thursday’s meeting marked the end of Susan Rowell’s stint as chamber chairman.

She had succeeded Jim Morton in that role.

The chamber’s chief accomplishments in 2012 were outlined Thursday night. Among them were the continuation and expansion of the Think Lancaster First initiative and the birth of the We Are Lancaster marketing campaign.

“I’m extremely proud of everything we’ve accomplished,” Rowell said. “It has been an honor and a privilege to serve you as chairman.”

Jodie Plyler now takes over as chairman.

Plyler wants to emphasize more advocacy for policies that protect and promote business interests. She also wants to see the expansion of the chamber’s leadership-development program.

“Our vision is simple,” Plyler said. “We want to make Lancaster County a better place to work, live and do business.”

These are the chamber’s 2013 officers and directors: Plyler (chairman), Steve Sherrill (chairman-elect), Rowell (past chairman), vice chairmen Nicki Nash, Sharon Novinger, Skip Pawul and Hunter Thompson, Vickie Porter (secretary), Brown Crenshaw (treasurer), Dr. Kristin Black, Kristen Blanchard, Eric Bowers, Ken Broughton, Michael Burgess, Walter Collins, Chris Conley, Lionel Moss, Amy Overcash and Stephen White.
Contact reporter Jesef Williams
at (803) 283-1152