LHS honors winter stars

-A A +A

Bruins salute cheer, hoop, mat standouts

By Robert Howey




Gems of the gym were in the blue and gold spotlight at the annual Lancaster High School winter sports awards night on Wednesday, February 27 in the LHS auditorium.

Athletes who shined in hoops, mats and cheers earned accolades for their performances during the 2012-13 LHS winter sports season.

The event was sponsored by the Lancaster High School Bruin Booster Club.

The Lancaster High School boys basketball team, which finished 12-13 and missed the Class AAAA playoffs for the first time in since the 2007-08 season, honored a host of players.

Junior guard Deuce Dunlap, the team’s top scorer with a 16.5 average, earned the team MVP.

Dunlap, an all-region player, was hailed by Bruins’ head coach Ricardo Priester as a “consummate teammate who leads by example on and off the court.”

Senior guard Demarcus “Yonnie” Montgomery and senior forward C.D. Pelham were named co-recipients of the Coaches Award.

Junior guard Calvin Crawford, who came up from the jayvee team and became a key contributor this season, was named the Most Improved Player.

Crawford, in the tradition of LHS basketball, was appointed incoming captain by outgoing captain, senior captain Demarcus “Yonnie” Montgomery.

“This was a transition season,” Priester noted. “These young men kept achieving and we’re extremely excited about our future.”

The Lady Bruins, who finished 11-11, including a 9-5 region record and a third-place league finish, saluted a host of players.

Junior center Phoebe Johnson, who posted 10 double-doubles, received the Bruin Award. Johnson also reaped an all-tournament selection at the Fairfield Central High School holiday tournament.

Johnson, an all-region pick,  averaged 11.9 points, 9.1 rebounds and three blocked shots a game for the LHS girls.

The team’s Defensive Award was presented to junior player Aliyah Davis and senior Sha’Ron Brunson earned the Offensive Award with a 6.6 scoring average.

The 13-7 Lancaster High School wrestling team spotlighted a host of players, including junior Quinshun Evans, the team’s Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Matt Brazzell was named the Bruins’ Most Improved Wrestler and senior Jordan Ribelin received the Coaches Award.

The Future Bruin Award was presented to Tyri Brown-Washington.

In cheerleading, senior Yamonee Watts led the honorees. Watts, an all-region cheerleader, received the Leadership Award.

Skyla Martin was also an all-region cheer pick. Ti’ara Benson earned Most Spirited and Breunna McCrorey was presented the team’s Coaches Award.

LHS athletic director Mark Strickland recognized the late Paul McGriff, who died in early December, for his contributions to the Bruins’ athletic program as part of the game night management crew as a clock operator.

“Paul was always a faithful follower and supporter,” Strickland said.

He also lauded the work of ace scorekeeper Fred Hicklin.

“Mr. Hicklin does outstanding work and we’re fortunate to have him,” he said.

Other awards

Jayvee Boys Basketball

MVP – Keifon Cogdell

Best Defensive Award – Cameron Meadows

Best Attitude – Patrick Rutledge

Boys B-team basketball

Coaches Award – Dontae Robertson

Hustle Award – Quavis Alexander

Jayvee Girls Basketball

Coaches Award – Jakemiah Mackey

Most Improved Award – Alexus Jackson

Junior Varsity Wrestling

Most Outstanding Wrestler – Vonis Garris

Middle School Wrestling

Coaches Award – Aaron Jackson

Most Improved – Alex Steele

Jayvee Cheerleading

Best All-Around – She’Kime’ McIlwain

Most Improved – Daisha Stevenson

Most Spirit – Mistasha Green