LHS honors winter stars

-A A +A

Bruins salute hoops, mats and cheer teams

By Robert Howey

Lancaster High School winter sports stars had their final shining moments Thursday night in the LHS auditorium.

Bruins’ athletes in basketball, wrestling and cheerleading were honored at the annual LHS winter sports awards night sponsored by the school’s athletic booster club.

The Lancaster High School boys’ basketball team, which finished 12-13 and earned a Class AAAA Upper State bid, drew its share of recognition.

Senior forward Jonathan McGriff, who averaged 8.7 rebounds a game, was named the LHS boys basketball MVP.

Junior guards Xavier Holloway and Garrett Thompson earned their share of honors. Holloway and Thompson, who shared the team’s Most Improved Award, reaped all-region laurels. Thompson, who grabbed four rebounds a game, averaged 10 points per game, while Holloway netted 9.6 points per contest.

Junior guard Avery Harris, who doled out six assists a game, was presented the Coaches Award.

The Lady Bruins spotlighted several players. Senior guard Tamesha Fletcher and sophomore Quana Jones, who averaged 7.8 points a game, were named co-winners of the Offensive Award. Senior forward Shiquitta Knotts received the Coaches Award.

Fletcher, who averaged 10.3 points a game, was also named to the all-region girls team.

In wrestling, the 6-8 Bruins, who also earned a Class AAAA Upper State bid, saluted a host of grapplers.

Senior 215-pounder Clay Rollings was honored with the Most Pins Award, 10 falls. Joe Craig, a 152-pounder who made a name for himself in finishing matches, received the Most Courageous Award. Junior Marshawn Rhoney received the Most Improved Award for his effort as the LHS 285-pounder.

Coach Terry Marshall, who is retiring after working with the Bruins’ wrestling and football programs, was honored for his service.

“Terry has been a positive influence for these young people,” LHS athletic director Mark Strickland said.

The varsity basketball cheerleader squad honored a trio of standouts. Beonca Robinson was named the team MVP. Zhaci Jones earned the Spirit Award and Malonda Rutledge received the Coaches Award.

Junior varsity and B-team winter sports participants were also honored.

In jayvee boys basketball, Quavis McIlwain was the Coaches Award winner and Alan Robinson earned the Leadership Award. Brandon Reese was selected as the B-team boys basketball MVP and the team’s Defensive Award winner was Andre Foulks.

The Junior Lady Bruins’ hoops squad honored Shaquandra Waters and Nicole Johnson with the Coaches Awards.

In junior varsity cheerleading, Jacquesha Curry was named Best All-Around and Caroline Poovey was selected for the Most Dependable Award.