Lancaster Dixie Baseball honors standouts

-A A +A

A League presents USCL baseball scholarship in memory of Marty Boone

By Robert Howey



Catledge Service Company pitcher-second baseman Christian Catledge, who sparked the team to the 2011 Lancaster Dixie Baseball Dixie Boys championship, swept two awards for the 13-14 league.

Catledge was named the league MVP and received the annual Matt Blackwell Sportsmanship Award.

Brooks Viola, of Catledge Service Company, and Lancaster Tours’ Byron Haigler shared the Dixie Boys Rookie of the Year.

Stevenson-Weir won the coaching staff of the year, which included Corey Carnes and Eddie Lee.

Dixie Boys 14 all-stars – Josh Wooden, Christian Catledge, J.P. Lewis, Troy Cunningham, Trey Cunningham, Richard Lee, Daniel Mackey, Wesley Knight, Ricky Hinson, Austin Richardson, Dalton Creighton, Jacob Ware, Heath Byers.

Coaching staff – Chris Catledge (manager), Brad Ware, Danny Brown.

Dixie Boys 13 Blue (Gotta Want To) – Sherlyn Mora, Jonathan Hill, Blake Langley, Jordan Brownell, Brady Horton, Trevor Cauthen, Brandon Horne, Denver Moseley, Tyler Stroud, Tyler Threatt, Josh Robinson, Brooks Viola.

Coaching staff – Brian Brownell (manager), Lee Horton, Robert Viola, John Hill, Carla Hill (team mom).

Dixie Boys 13 Red – Chris Culp, Jacob Steele, Drew Beaver, Jacob Nolan, Holden Payne, Cameron Payne, Cody Snipes, Byron Haigler, Gage Hinson, Jason Blakeney, Travis Floyd.

Coaching staff - Dale Hinson, David Haigler and Corey Carnes.

The 13 all-stars play in the district tournament at Minuteman Field where play begins July 2. The 14 all-stars play in the district tournament in York on July 2.

u Eric Hall of regular-season and city champion A-1 Fencing was named the Ozone (ages 11-12) MVP. Rookie of the year was presented to Dylan Sistare of Gameday Sports.

Trey Rollings, of Springs Memorial, won the sportsmanship award. Springs Memorial’s Neal Taylor earned the league home run award with seven homers.

The Springs Memorial staff of Trenton Taylor, Hope Rollings and Tony Mackey won the Ozone coaching staff of the year award.

Ozone all-stars – Andrew Caskey, Eric Hall, Cooper Ledbetter, Evan Hardin, Trinity Hunt, Trey Rollings, Neal Taylor, Christian Joplin, Spencer Funderburk, Dylan Sistare, Ryan Griffin

The Ozone all-stars open district tournament play July 9 in Lancaster.

u Cora Mora Wallace of regular-season and city champion Carolina Podiatry is the MVP in the AAA League, ages 9-10.

First Citizens Drake Bond won the rookie of the year and Sergio Vazquez, of J’s Crew, earned the sportsmanship award.

Gardner Environmental won the AAA coaching staff of the year, which included Mark Robinson, Tony Jordan and Reggie Eubanks.

AAA all-stars – Austin Catoe, Brett Percival, Raul Mora Garcia, Corey Mora Wallace, Tad McCowan, William Wrape, Matthew Sims, Will Hudson, Drake Bond, Trevor Bond, Cameron Jones and Ethan Funderburk.

u McGaughy Tax’s Cannon Stogner is the AA MVP, ages 7-8. Landon Deese of McGaughy Tax won the rookie of the year award.

Thomas Tillman, who played for regular-season and city champion Blackwell, Trimnal, Myers, won the sportsmanship award.

Plyler’s Auto Sales’ won the coaching staff of the year, Steve Hoke, Geoff Hudson and Kenny Samuel.

AA all-stars – Cannon Stogner, Landon Deese, Jarrett Laney, Alex Griffin, Andrew Wright, Gavin Phillips, Landon Jordan, Tyler Trimnal, Phillip Mickles, Blayne Small, Zachary Blackmon and Kyle Percival.

u The A league for the Lancaster Dixie Baseball 5-6 instructional league highlighted its awards with the presentation of a $1,500 check in memory of Marty Boone for the University of South Carolina Lancaster baseball program.

League president Larry Small presented the check to Lancers’ coach Steve Williams, a Dixie Baseball product. The A league most outstanding player is Grayson Kirk of Camp Creek Masonic Lodge.

Coaching staff of the year is Founders Federal Credit Union, Will Brice, Brad Marsico, John Snipes, Chris Phillips and Robbie Waits. The sportsmanship award was presented to Jamie Pardue of Camp Creek Masonic Lodge.