Lady Bruins lead winter honors

-A A +A

LHS holds annual winter sports awards

By Robert Howey

Lancaster High School stars of the hoop, mat and cheers drew the blue and gold spotlight at the annual Bruins winter sports awards on Wednesday, March 5.

Basketball, wrestling and cheerleading aces took one final bow to highlight the 2013-14 LHS winter sports campaign.

The bulk of the Bruins limelight was on the Region III-AAAA champion Lady Bruins basketball team.

The LHS girls, 16-5 for the season, posted a 14-0 region record for the 2013-14 campaign. The team’s region championship was its first since the 2005 campaign.

Two key players in the Lady Bruins’ hardwood success – seniors Phoebe Johnson and Kyia Hough – were honored as co-recipients of the Bruin Award.

Johnson, an all-region and all-state pick, will play in the annual Carolinas Classic at Myrtle Beach on March 22 when the top players from the Carolinas will meet in an elite game. She averaged 11.1 points and 8.1 rebounds a game.

Hough, the Region III-AAAA Player of the Year, hit 15 points a game with 2.7 assists. She will play in the annual North-South All-Star game March 22.

Lady Bruins’ coach Ronnie Robinson, the Region III-AAAA girls basketball Coach of the Year, presented two more awards.

Sophomore forward Keyotta Garris was named the team’s Most Improved Player and junior guard Kaela Robinson earned the Coaches Award.

Members of the region champion girls hoops squad were presented miniature basketballs and T-shirts to honor the hardwood milestone.

In boys basketball, senior guard Deuce Dunlap was presented the Coaches Award. Guard Keifon Cogdell and Quasheon McCarter were co-winners of the Most Improved Player Award.

LHS coach Ricardo Priester announced Tyshen Hammond will serve as team captain for the 2014-15 season.

Senior 182-pounder Quinshun Evans led the wrestling awards.

The Region III-AAAA champion, who placed fourth in the state with a 46-2 record, was named the LHS wrestling MVP. Evans, with his region title, also reaped all-region honors.

Matt Brazzell won the Bruins Award and Steven Myers received the Mr. Hustle Award.

A host of cheerleaders were honored for their spirit and support during the cheer season.

Nia Rhoney earned all-region, while Ti’Ara Benson was selected for the Leadership Award. Jada Bush won the Most Dedicated Award and Alexis Todd received the Most Improved Award. Marissa Lee earned the Coaches Award.

Other awards:

  • Jayvee Cheer

Cheer Hard Award – Krista Miller

Most Spirit Award – Alexandria Williams

  • Jayvee girls Basketball

Coaches Award – Brisha Sanders

Most Improved – Mya Truesdale

  • B-team Boys Basketball

MVP – C.J. Brown

Coaches Award – Zion Douglas


Contact sports editor Robert Howey at 283-1157