Kershaw holds annual chamber banquet

-A A +A

KERSHAW – The Kershaw Chamber of Commerce held its annual banquet Tuesday, April 9, at the Kershaw Country Club.

An estimated 100 guest enjoyed fun and fellowship.

One of the highlights of the evening was when those in attendance honored guest speaker state Sen. Vincent Sheheen (D-27) with a standing ovation.

Sheheen, a 41-year-old father of three from Camden, announced this week that he intended to running for governor. He plans to start campaigning after the state legislative session ends in June.

Sheheen talked about the unity among the townspeople of Kershaw and how this impacts local lives, society and South Carolina.


  • The chamber presented several awards and certificates to those who are making a positive impact to business, industry and life in the south end of the county.
  • Ann Hayes Phillips and Becky Dunn were honored with Good Samaritan certificates for their support roles at town functions. This award is given to persons who are not members of the Chamber, but go above and beyond to promote Kershaw.
  • Reo King was presented with the John T. Stevens award. This award started this year and will be presented annually to one who has done the most to advance the programs of the Chamber or the town. It is given in memory of John T. Stevens, a long-time supporter and member of the Kershaw Chamber.
  • Nell Robinson was named business person of the year. This award recognizes the Kershaw Chamber of Commerce member whose business and community improvement contributions in the past twelve months significantly impacted the town of Kershaw.
  • Sheila Hinson was presented the President’s Board of Director’s award. This award was solely chosen by chamber president Gary Sowell to honor the one he deems who contributed the most to the chamber and town functions and events.
  • Sowell presented the President’s award to Beverly Timmons. This annual award recognizes the Kershaw citizen who contributed significantly to the betterment of the community. It is the highest award given by the Chamber. This award was previously called ‘Citizen of the Year’ award.