IL wrestlers strong in A-AA Upstate duals

-A A +A

Warriors advance to semifinals

By Robert Howey


The Indian Land wrestling team produced a strong run in the Class A-AA Upper State duals tournament before falling to eventual Class A-AA Upper State champion Liberty, 43-28 at Powdersville High School in Greenville on Saturday, Feb. 8.

Despite giving up 24 points in forfeits, IL lost by 15 to Liberty. In actual matches wrestled with PHS, the Warriors won six of 10 weight classes.

“We wrestled very well in some very tough matches,” IL wrestling coach Rondale Truesdale said. “I am extremely proud of our team. Giving up 24 points in forfeits against Liberty was too much to overcome, despite the effort they gave.”

Indian Land, seeded eighth in the Upstate tourney, advanced to the semifinal round before falling to Liberty.

IL opened with a 48-36 win over No. 9 seeded and tourney host Powdersville. The Warriors then defeated top-seeded Columbia, 39-37 before falling to Liberty.

Dalen Byerley, Devin Curtsinger and Eric Komorous each went 3-0 on the day. Dylan Curtsinger was 2-0.

The Indian Land wrestlers will compete in the Upper State individual tournament on Saturday, Feb 22.

IL 48 PHS 36

106 – Durst (P) pinned Nick Sheheen (IL)

113 – Juan Oller (IL) pinned Ellison (P)

120 – McKinney (P) pinned Tomas Seamon (IL)

126 – Dalen Byerley (IL) pinned Durham (P)

132 – Ian Mancuso (IL) won by forfeit

138 – Richie Wilkinson (IL) pinned Coleman (P)

145 – Sargent (P) pinned Jake Fiato (IL)

152 – Devin Curtsinger (IL) pinned Yergan (P)

160 – George Morris (IL) won by forfeit

170 – Dickerson (P) pinned David Ovecka (IL)

182 – Eric Komorous (IL) pinned Byers (P)

195 – Will Van Hoose (IL) pinned Holbrooks (P)

220 – Stoddard (P) won by forfeit

285 – Greentree (P) won by forfeit

IL 39 CHS 37

113 – Tomas Seamon (IL) decisioned Randolph (C)

120 – Dalen Byerley (IL) pinned Williams (C)

126 – Dylan Curtsinger (IL) pinned Brown (C)

132 – Pauly (C) pinned Ian Mancuso (IL)

138 – Richie Wilkinson (IL) pinned Lesane (C)

145 – Gossett (C) pinned Jake Fiato (IL)

152 – Devin Curtsinger (IL) pinned Bennett (C)

160 – George Morris (IL) pinned Carolina (C)

170 – Wilson (C) won a major decision over David Ovecka (IL)

182 – Shaw (C) decisioned Will Van Hoose (IL)

195 – Eric Komorous (IL) pinned Frazier (C)

220 – Columbia won by forfeit

285 – Columbia won by forfeit

106 – Columbia won by forfeit

LHS 43 IL 28

120 – Dalen Byerley (IL) won a major decision over Oglesby (L)

126 – Dylan Curtsinger (IL) pinned Weimer (L)

132 – Pilgrim (L) won by forfeit

138 – Whitmier (L) pinned Richie Wilkinson

145 – Devin Curtsinger (IL) pinned Murphy (L)

152 – Knott (L) decisioned George Morris (IL)

160 – Painter (L) won by forfeit

170 – David Ovecka (IL) decisioned Vadel (L)

182 – Will Van Hoose (IL) pinned Dismukes (L)

195 – Eric Komorous (IL) decisioned Chambers (L)

220 – Liberty won by forfeit

285 – Liberty won by forfeit

106 – Wiedman (L) decisioned Juan Oller (IL)

113 – Frye (L) pinned Tomas Seamon (IL)