IL Warriors honor fall sports standouts

-A A +A
By Robert Howey

Robert Howey
INDIAN LAND – Fall’s finest took the spotlight at the annual Indian Land High School fall sports awards night Thursday evening in the school gym.
A host of fall sports standouts were honored for their play during the season.
The Indian Land High School football awards were led by record-setting senior quarterback Rondreas Truesdale, the state’s top rusher (2,120 yards)who earned the team MVP.
Truesdale, an all-region pick, also played in the annual North-South All-Star game at Myrtle Beach last month.
The region champion volleyball team honored senior Savannah Adams as the Lady Warriors MVP. She was also named to the all-region team.
Senior Jena Carroll, who was presented the Digs Leader Award, garnered Class AA all-state honors as well as all-region accolades.
In cross country, region champion James Gregory, who placed 11th in the state, received the Leadership Award.
Tianah Miller, a seventh grader who won the region title, received the Lady Warriors Spirit Award.
In girls tennis, senior Kimberly Koenig, an all-region pick, was the recipient of the Lady Warriors’ MVP Award.
MVP – Rondreas Truesdale
Best Running Back – D.J. Moore
Best Receiver – Michael Rodriguez
Gary Moore Offensive Line Award – Marc Morris
Best Defensive Lineman – Shawn Washington
Best Linebacker – Josh Williams
Best Defensive Back – C.J. White
Most Improved Player – Drew Richardson
Coaches Award – Bradley Boone
All-Region – Rondreas Truesdale, Trey Eaves, Marc Morris, Josh Williams, D.J. Moore and C.J. White
Jayvee Football
Most Improved Player – Earl Mason
Most Promising Offense – George Morris
Most Promising Defense – Dylan Steen
Most Promising Lineman – Coby Custer
Coaches Award – Dante White
Girls Tennis
MVP – Kimberly Koenig
Most Improved – Bridget Sampson
Warrior Spirit Award – Hannah Hunter
All-Region – Kimberly Koenig, Haley Hunter, Hannah Hunter, Bridget Sampson
MVP – Savannah Adams
Most Improved Player – Lindsay Johnson
Kill Leader – Jessica Floyd
Digs Leader – Jena Carroll
All-Region – Lindsay Johnson, Jessica Floyd, Savannah Adams, Jena Carroll
Region IV-AA Coach of the Year – Tamara Jacobus
Class AA All-State – Jena Carroll
Jayvee Volleyball
Most Improved Player – Ivanna Guzman
Team Spirit Award – Misae Evans
Hustle Award – Babs Marshall
Boys Cross Country
Warrior Award – Matthew Hajek
Spirit Award – Leith Rawson
Leadership Award – James Gregory
Rookie of the Year – Ian Frais
Region Champion – James Gregory
Girls Cross Country
Warrior Award – Sarah Jordan
Spirit Award – Tianah Miller
Leadership Award – Kristin Carpenter
Rookie of the Year – Catrina Bynum
Region Champion – Tianah Miller
Varsity Cheer
MVP – Ashley Conley
Most Improved – Marie Tumaniec
Best Spirit – Briana Tisdale
Coaches Award – Stephanie Psaroudis
Jayvee Cheer
MVP – Kelsey Groll
Most Improved – Veronica Marriqun
Best Spirit – Brenna Dickerson