Four file for open seat on GF town council

-A A +A
By Nancy Parsons

GREAT FALLS – Three former town council members and a previous contender have filed for the open seat on the Great Falls Town Council.
Councilman Zack Williams submitted his letter of resignation July 9.
Former town councilman Earl Taylor was the first person to file for the vacant seat. He filed July 23.
Taylor was followed by Darla Wynne who has made several unsuccessful runs for council. Former town councilman Kenny Johnson filed a letter of intent July 25.
On July 26, the final day to file, former town councilman Dean Runion filed for the seat. Runion resigned from council previously but feels he can better serve the town this go-around, he said.
Williams, pastor of Second Baptist Church, was elected to town council last year and was sworn into office June 1, 2012. He completed 13 months of the four-year term but said he needed to re-focus his energy and devote more time and service to the church flock he shepherds. Williams’ term expires in 2016.
Residents of the town of Great Falls who wish to register to vote in the election must do so no later than Sept. 9.
A special election to fill the vacancy is Oct. 8. Polls are open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.
Registered voters who cannot vote in person may be eligible to vote absentee ballot. Persons wishing more information concerning absentee voting should call the Chester County Board of Voter Registration at (803) 385-2562 or visit the office at 109 Ella St., Chester.
At 4 p.m. on election day, the County Election Commission will begin its examination of the absentee ballot return envelopes at the Voter Registration and Elections Office, 109 Ella St., Chester. At 11 a.m.  Oct. 10 , the County Board of Canvassers will hold a hearing to determine the validity of all provisional ballots cast in the election. The hearing is at the county Voter Registration and Elections Office.
Voters in Wards 1, 2 and 3 will vote at the Great Falls War Memorial Building, 401 Dearborn St., Great Falls. Voters in the Beckhamville precinct will vote at Trinity Baptist Church, 112 Chester Ave.