First Mike Kersey Memorial wrestling tourney Saturday at Indian Land High

-A A +A

Staff Reports

The first Mike Kersey Memorial Invitational will be held Saturday at Indian Land High School.

The high school wrestling tournament, formerly known as the Warrior Invitational, is named in honor of the late Warriors’ wrestling coach.

Kersey, who also taught physical education at Indian Land Elementary School, started the tournament which annually is held the first Saturday in December.

He died this fall from injuries in an ATV accident.

“This is a tribute to coach Kersey and what he did for wrestling at Indian Land as well as wrestling in our state,” said IL coach Rondale Truesdale, who wrestled for Kersey during his prep career at Indian Land. “It’s right to name the tournament for him.”

The 2011 Kersey field features 11 teams. Weigh-in is at 8 a.m., with the wrestling to start at 9.

The field includes Buford, Charlotte Christian, Clover, Lancaster,  North Central, Northwestern, Providence Day, South Mecklenburg, Sun Valley, York and the host IL Warriors.

“We’re looking for a strong field,” Truesdale said. “We have a variety of schools and I think the wrestling will be good throughout the day.”

The top three individual winners will be recognized, while the top three schools will also honored.

The winner in each weight class will receive a hoody.

Warriors fall at FM

The Warriors, in their first season under Truesdale, opened their wrestling season with a 46-25 loss to Class AAA foe Fort Mill High on Tuesday.

The Warriors’ winners included Logan Creed (pin), James Daley (pin), Jonathan Rowe (major decision), Mark Morris (decision) and Jared Smith (forfeit).

152 – Nick Leitten (FM) won by technical fall over Shawn Washington (IL)

160 – Logan Creed (IL) pinned Will Hooker (FM)

170 – Michael Mockridge (FM) won a major decision over Eric Komorous (IL)

182 – Nick Sinicrope (FM) decisioned Rondreas Truesdale (IL) in double overtime

195 – D.J. Hurst (FM) won by forfeit

220 – Brian Daubenspeck (FM) pinned Coby Custer (IL)

Heavyweight – Mark Morris (IL) decisioned Zach Dulcie (FM)

106 – James Daley (IL) pinned Andrew Mecca (FM)

113 – Tyler Turner (FM) pinned Michael Mediate (IL)

120 – Jake Strong (FM) pinned Joyner Mason (IL)

126 – Seth Frase (FM) won a major decision over Taylor Pendleton (IL)

132 – Dan Marr (FM) won by forfeit

138 – Jonathan Rowe (IL) won a major decision over Chase Shiflet (FM)

 145 – Jared Smith (IL) won by forfeit