Faulkenberry leads Vols honorees

-A A +A
By Kim Roberts

 Kim Roberts

For the Lancaster News

KERSHAW – Orange and White shining moments showcased a host of athletes with AJ senior two-sport star Haley Faulkenberry leading the way at the Andrew Jackson High School All-Sports Awards on Tuesday, May 26 at the Lancaster County Class AA high school.

Faulkenberry, named the AJ Athlete of the Year, starred in volleyball and softball for the Lady Vols.

Faulkenberry, a Class AA all-state pick in volleyball and softball, was also a North-South All-Star selection for volleyball and softball.

Faulkenberry, who reaped MVP honors in volleyball and the Best All-Around Award for softball, was also selected as the Region IV-AA Player of the Year for volleyball.

She played a key role in AJ’s volleyball run to the Class AA state championship match and helped the Lady Vols softball team to a final four berth in the Class AA Upper State title series earlier this month.

In girls basketball, senior guard Dareisha Sowell shared the Lady Vols Award with teammate Elizabeth Scott.

Sowell garnered all-region and all-state honors for basketball and earned the Region IV-AA Player of the Year Award for the Lady Vols basketball team which finished as the Class AA state runner-up after winning the Class AA Upstate crown and the Region IV-AA championship with a 10-0 record.


Offensive Line – Mason Kirkley

Offensive Back – Kolby Whitley

Best Receiver – Corley Faulkenberry

Best Defensive Back – Cody Faile

Best Defensive Lineman – Gervais Canty

Best Linebacker – Tray King

Chad Faulkenberry Memorial Award – Jared Hayes

All-Region – Kolby Whitley, Corley Faulkenberry, Dale Crawford, Tray King, Mason Kirkley


MVP – Haley Faulkenberry

Defensive Player of the Year – Lauren Rowell

Leadership Awards – Elizabeth Scott, Darby Threatt

All-Region – Darby Threatt, Lauren Rowell, Katlyn Starnes, Haley Faulkenberry, Hannah Cobb

Region IV-AA Player of the Year – Haley Faulkenberry

North-South All-Star – Haley Faulkenberry

All-State – Haley Faulkenberry


MVP – Brittney Harris

Most Improved – Savannah Hayes

Girls Basketball

Lady Vols Awards – Dareisha Sowell, Elizabeth Scott

Orange and White Award – Anslee McDow

Super-Sub Award – McKenzie Horton

Coaches Award – Brantley Ussery, Summer Vick

All-Region – Dareisha Sowell, Elizabeth Scott, Summer Vick

Region IV-AA Player of the Year – Dareisha Sowell

Region IV-AA Coach of the Year – Dennis Farmer

All-State – Dareisha Sowell

Boys Basketball

MVP – Dustin Eddins

Coaches Award – Corey Walters, D.J. Hagins, Luke Sowell

Best All Round Player – Dontarius James

Best Offense Award – Dustin Eddins

Best Defense Award – Cameron McIssac

All-Region – Dustin Eddins, Dontarius James


Most Outstanding Wrestler – Dalton Haven

Most Improved Wrestler – Antonio Truesdale

Chad Faulkenberry Leadership Award – Dalton Allen


Best All-Around – Haley Faulkenberry

Best Defensive Player – Hannah Cobb

Best Offensive Player – Angela Sims

Coaches Award – Kinsley Adams

All-Region – Kinsley Adams, Hannah Cobb, Haley Faulkenberry, Angela Sims

All-State – Hannah Cobb, Haley Faulkenberry

North-South All-Star – Haley Faulkenberry


Best All-Around – Kipp Rollings

All-Heart Award – Corley Faulkenberry, Dustin Eddins

Most Improved – Eric Miles

Rookie of the Year – Trey Rollings

All-Region – Kipp Rollings, Eric Miles

Girls Soccer

MVP – Taylor Blackmon

Best Offensive Player – Cheyenne Blackmon

Best Defensive Player – Savanna Catoe

Most Improved Players – Liz Plyler, Claire Estrada

All-Region – Taylor Blackmon, Ana Grace Catoe, Savannah Fletcher, Rebecca Hinson, Darby Threatt

Boys Soccer

MVP – McKenzie Denkins

Offensive Player of the Year – McKenzie Denkins

Defensive Player of the Year – Ryan Burgess

Coaches Award – Luke Sowell

All-Region – John Ware, McKenzie Denkins, Zach Arioli, Ryan Burgess

All-State – McKenzie Denkins

Girls Track

MVP – Sha ‘Qwala Miller

Coaches Award – Brantley Ussery, Kennisha Holmes

Most Improved Player – Olivia Plyler

Rookie of the Year – Niyana Jones

All-Region – Brantley Ussery

All-State – Sha ‘Qwala Miller

Boys Track

MVP – Tray King

Most Improved Player – Bobby Roberts

Coaches Award – Anthony White

Rookie of the Year – Garret Bowers

All-Region – Anthony White


MVP – Logan Sowell

Most Improved Player – Chandler Norville

Coaches Award – Devin Gardner

All-Region – Logan Sowell, Caleb Brown, Chandler Norville

All-State – Logan Sowell