Duracell receives Literacy award

-A A +A

Carolinas Literacy Network
Proctor & Gamble–Duracell received the Literacy Champion Award during the Carolinas Literacy Network’s annual meeting on June 13 at the Lancaster County Historic Courthouse.  
Elizabeth H. Robinson, chairwoman of the Carolinas Literacy Network board of directors, presented the award.
Duracell was recognized for its ongoing support of literacy, especially among its employees. Karen Yarborough, employee relations coordinator for Duracell, accepted the award on behalf of the Lancaster Duracell operation.
Carolinas Literacy Network developed the Literacy Champion Award to recognize and celebrate the outstanding literacy efforts of a company, organization or individual, according to Kathy Wilds, executive director of the network.
The award is presented each year during the network’s annual meeting.
Retiring board members were honored during the meeting. They are Jerry Witherspoon, Heather Mueller, Annette Deese and Sharon Bodrick.
Board members elected at the meeting include  Wendy Seegars, Stacy Scott, Clarence Carpenter, Kim Herndon and Dr. Kim Linton.
The new board members bring additional representation for the network’s service area – from Kershaw at the southern end of Lancaster County to Chester and York counties.
Carolinas Literacy Network also welcomed two new member organizations, the University of South Carolina Lancaster and the Tri-District/Chester Adult Education representing Chester, York, Clover and Fort Mill school districts.