County trio honored by Tri-County Coaches Association

-A A +A
By Robert Howey

Three Lancaster County prep football standouts were saluted for their play in week eight regular-season high school play by the Tri-County Football Coaches Association.

Lancaster High School senior linebacker Dawan Thompson was named the Division I defensive player of the week for his effort in the Bruins’ 13-10 overtime win over Blythewood.In the Division II honors, Andrew Jackson High School junior linebacker Dylan McKittrick was selected as the defensive player of the week, while Indian Land High School’s Reco Hayden earned the defensive lineman of the week.Thompson, in the Bruins’ OT win, notched 16 tackles, two tackles for loss, two sacks, a pressure passer and caused a fumble.McKittrick, who led AJ’s decisive, game-ending goal-line stand in the Vols’ 10-6 win over sixth-ranked Columbia, posted 18 tackles, three tackles for loss, a caused fumble and three fumble recoveries.Hayden registered nine tackles and two tackles for loss in the Warriors’ 19-6 road loss to Lewisville High School.LHS also had several honorable mentions, including senior running back Jamias Clark (offensive player of the week) and senior defensive lineman Casey Truesdale (defensive lineman of the week). Truesdale tallied 12 tackles, a tackle for loss, a sack and two unassisted tackles.Andrew Jackson had three honorable mentions in senior Justin Sellers (offensive player of the week), Robert Massey (defensive lineman of the week) and Tyler Denkins (special teams player of the week).Sellers made five catches for 88 yards and a touchdown. Massey, a freshman, registered six tackles, four quarterback hits, a tackle for loss and a sack.Denkins, a freshman, kicked an extra point and a 23-yard field goal in the Vols’ four-point win.Indian Land honorable mentions included Deon Sayles (offensive player) and Keyadd Miller (defensive player).Miller made 15 tackles and Sayles ran for 110 yards in 15 carries in the Warriors’ loss to the Lions.Division I winners included Fort Mill’s Danny Till (offensive player and special teams player), Sam Mallard of South Pointe (offensive lineman), Northwestern’s Akeem Adams (defensive lineman).Other Division II winners are Quastin Walker of York (offensive player), Lewisville’s Javario Crawford (offensive lineman) and York’s Ben Kennon (offensive lineman) and Lewisville’s Chris Brett (special teams).Lewisville High School honorable mentions: Isaiah Johnson (offensive player), Jeremy Green (defensive player) and Darius Archie (defensive lineman).Each week during the regular season, coaches from Chester, Lancaster and York county meet at the Front Porch Restaurant to honor players for their top performances following the previous week of play.