Card playoff decides Rotary Open winner

-A A +A

Birdie on LGC No. 12

By Robert Howey


A card playoff decided the winner in the annual Lancaster Rotary Club Open on Thursday, Sept. 13 at the Lancaster Golf Club.

Two teams tied for the lead with a 60 each at the end of 18 holes. The card playoff, which began on No. 11, went two holes, with the victors prevailing with a birdie on No. 12.

The winning team included George Flanders, Buck Tucker, Josh Tucker and Carl Vincent.

“Josh had an outstanding tee shot on 12 and put us in good position for the birdie,” Flanders said. “They key for us all day was teamwork. We played well together and had great play from everybody on the team.

“We also had fun, which is more important than winning,” Flanders said. “We played well together and our play on No. 12 was an example.”

The runner-up team, which also shot a 12-under 60 for 18 holes, had a par on No. 12.

The runner-up team included Odell Steele, Steve Sherrill, Jerry Williams and Steward Beasley.

The third-place team in the 18-team field included Dalton Olawsky, Sonny Rushing, Charles Walters and Wesley Grider.

“The tournament went wonderful,” said tournament director Evan Scott. “The weather was nice and the course, with the new renovations, was outstanding.

“We had a lot of outstanding golf and a lot of fun,” Scott said. “It was a battle to determine the winner and we had a lot of teams in it to the end. It was a competitive field.”

Scott noted Founders Federal Credit Union sponsored the meal following the tourney.

The USC Lancaster golf team also had several of its players in the field to help even the teams for A players, Scott said.

Tournament proceeds will be used for area projects of the Lancaster Breakfast and Lancaster Lunch Rotary clubs.

“It’s great to win,” Flanders said. “It is also great to help with a great cause like this.”

Scott said plans are already in the works for next year.

 “It will be on the second Thursday in September and we look forward to another fine tournament,” he said. “We appreciate the support each year.”