Bruins honor fall sports standouts

-A A +A

Bruins fall honors

By Robert Howey



Fall sports were in the blue and gold spotlight at the annual Lancaster High School fall sports awards in the LHS auditorium on Thursday, Dec. 6.

A host of fall standouts were honored and LHS athletic director Mark Strickland took a moment to honor the late Paul McGriff. McGriff, an avid LHS supporter, assisted with game management during football and basketball seasons. He died Nov. 29.

“Paul will be sorely missed,” Strickland said. “He was a great person to be around. We will miss him greatly. He was a valuable member of our staff.”

Fall sports coaches presented a host of award at the event sponsored by the LHS Booster Club.

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Scotty Munn Memorial Coaches Award which was given to Bruins’ senior center Josh Cato.

Top football honors were presented to senior quarterback Kaderrious Jackson and linebacker Quinshun Evans.

Jackson, an all-region pick, earned the Offensive MVP and Offensive Back Award. Evans was named the Defensive MVP.

In volleyball, Hayden Thorne was selected the Offensive MVP and Morgan Cope earned the Defensive MVP.

Emily Cox and Baylee Evans, a pair of all-region selections in girls golf, shared Lady Bruins golf MVP honors. 

Senior Lindsey Hegler, an all-region pick, reaped Lady Bruins’ tennis MVP honors.

In cross country, LHS girls runner JeNae Jones, an all-region and national elite runner, was named the girls Top Runner. Jonathan Reid was presented the boys Top Runner Award.

In swimming, senior Jory Pettit, an all-state swimmer and state silver medalist, and Hannah Jacobs were tabbed as the Most Outstanding Swimmers.


Offensive Player of the Year – Hayden Thorne

Defensive Player of the Year – Morgan Cope

Most Improved Player – Tara Brooks

Coaches Award – Amirah Steward

All-Region – Elizabeth Gaston

Manager Award – Alexa Roman

Jayvee Coaches Award – Lauren Crapps

Jayvee Most Improved – Mya Truesdale


MVP – Emily Cox, Baylee Evans

All-Region – Baylee Evans, Emily Cox

Most Improved – Hope Jewett


MVP – Lindsey Hegler

All-Region – Carley Adams, Sara Hicks, Lindsey Hegler

Most Improved – Ivey Plaza 

Coaches Award – Sara Hicks

Cross Country

Girls Top Runner – JeNae Jones

Girls Most Improved – Racquel Mullis

Girls Bruin Award – Eden Christopher

All-Region – JeNae Jones

National Elite Runner – JeNae Jones

Boys Top Runner – Jonathan Reid

Boys Rookie of the Year – Taylor Willis

Boys Bruin Award – Cole Bailey


MVP – Jory Pettit, Hannah Jacobs

All-State – Jory Pettit

Coaches Award – Connor Poston, Gracie Scott

Spirit Award – Pagan Glenn, Adam Augeson

Captain Awards – Rochelle Jewett, Kenneth Martin


Offensive MVP – Kaderrious Jackson

Defensive MVP – Quinshun Evans

All-Region – Quinshun Evans, Kaderrious Jackson

Scotty Munn Memorial Coaches Award – Josh Cato

Most Improved – Deshoun Wright

Defensive Back Award – Will Jackson

Offensive Back Award – Kaderrious Jackson

Offensive Line Award – Jadarius Hammond

Jayvee MVP – Keendarius Truesdale

Jayvee Offensive MVP – K.D. Wright

Jayvee Defensive Award – Jermarick Jones