All-county defensive unit sports big hitters

-A A +A

Linebacker trio anchors stop unit

By Robert Howey

The Lancaster News’ 2008 all-county defensive football team features its share of big-hitters.

The unit is led by a trio of outstanding linebackers, including AJ’s Dylan McKittrick, Lancaster High’s Stephno Drakeford and Buford High’s Joseph Wright.

McKittrick, an all-region pick, led the Vols’ stop unit with 150 tackles and 25 tackles for loss. Drakeford, a solid part of an ace linebacker corps at LHS with News’ Player of the Year Dawan Thompson, racked up 106 tackles and caused two fumbles. Wright carded 60 tackles, 45 assists to go with three tackles for loss, a sack and a fumble recovery. He led BHS defensive points with 176.

The defensive interior is solid, with LHS all-region senior nose guard Casey Truesdale leading the way. He had 88 tackles, four sacks, three caused fumbles and a fumble recovery.

Truesdale is joined by LHS sophomore Daniel Foster, an all-region pick who registered 84 tackles, two sacks and recovered two fumbles.

Indian Land High School senior Keyadd Miller, Buford senior Jesse James and AJ freshman Robert Massey complete  the interior. Miller registered 81 tackles, 11 tackles for loss, eight sacks, two broken up passes, a caused fumble and recovered two fumbles.

James notched 19 first hits, 39 assists to go with two tackles for loss, two sacks, a fumble recovery and two quarterback pressures.

Massey, an all-league pick for AJ, had 45 tackles to go with 15 tackles for loss.

LHS senior all-region pick Brion Strothers spurs the secondary with 43 tackles, a fumble recovery and six interceptions.

Indian Land High School senior Chad Carlton tallied 102 tackles, eight tackles for loss, four sacks, three caused fumbles, two fumble recoveries and broke up two passes.

Buford’s Qua Reid had 46 first hits and 16 assists. He picked off five interceptions, broke up eight passes and recovered a fumble.

LHS senior Michael Catoe, who averaged 37.3 yards a kick, is the punter.

Second team: Grey Cox (DL, LHS), Dimitry Anthony (DL, IL), Darius Robinson (DL, LHS), Marcus Brown (DL, BHS), Corey Henderson (DL, AJ), Britt Wells (LB, BHS), Chad Jones (LB, IL), Kody Faulkenberry (LB, AJ), Trevor Banks (DB, BHS), Tim Duncan (DB, LHS), Brandon McGriff (DB, LHS), Luke Lambert (P, IL)

The teams are selected from nominations from the four county high school coaches.