AJ honors fall-winter stars

-A A +A

Fair, Wright, Faulkenberry in Vols spotlight

By Robert Howey




KERSHAW – Quadarius Fair, Bre Wright and Haley Faulkenberry earned a major part of the orange spotlight at the Andrew Jackson High School fall and winter sports awards night Saturday, March 16 in the AJ High cafeteria.

Fair, a standout in football and basketball, garnered his share of awards in both sports.

He was named the boys basketball MVP and also reaped the Best Offensive Award, and all-region hoops honors with teammate Avalon Truesdale.

Fair averaged 17 points and 7.1 rebounds for the Vols, who gained a Class AA Upper State playoff bid under coach Danny Wright.

In football, Fair was named the Vols Best Receiver with 67 catches for 989 yards and 22 touchdowns. The all-region honoree also was selected for the Best Defensive Back Award with 49 tackles, one tackle for loss, four interceptions and a fumble recovery for a TD.

Wright, the Region IV-AA Player of the Year for girls basketball, averaged 12.7 points per game and 8.8 rebounds.

She was a co-recipient of the AJ Coaches Award with Halle Thompson, showing courage and battling back from injuries in her Lady Vols’ hoops career.

She along with Dareisha Sowell were honored for scoring over 1,000 points in their careers.

Wright also earned all-region and all-state honors.

Faulkenberry earned her share of volleyball honors for the Lady Vols, who won the region title and finished as the Class AA Upper State runner-up.

Faulkenberry was named Class AA all-state and the Region IV-AA Player of the Year. She also won the Most Attack Kills Award.

The late coach Chad Faulkenberry, who died in the fall of 2011, was remembered during the event. Faulkenberry, who coached football, also had a dream to see the Vols begin a prep wrestling program.

AJ fielded its first varsity wrestling team during the 2012-13 mat season.

AJ wrestler Dalton Allen was presented the first Coach Chad Faulkenberry Award.

In football, Corley Fauleknberry was honored with the Coach Chad Faulkenberry Award.

AJ athletic director Scottie Phillips offered key words for parents and student-athletes.

“Push your kids’ grades,” Phillips said. “It’s important for them to keep their grades up.”

He added athletes can make strides from season to season with a solid commitment to the weight room.

“If we want to get the most from our athletes in every sport, our parents have to push our kids to be in the weight room,” Phillips said. “Our athletes should be in the weight room.”

He also encouraged parents to boost athletes through the AJ booster club.

“Come join and be active in the booster club,” Phillips said. “No matter what you do, it’s going to help our athletes and make a difference.”


Coach Chad Faulkenberry Award – Dalton Allen

Most Outstanding Wrestler Lower Weights – Armando Rivera

Most Outstanding Wrestler Upper Weights – Xzavier Woodard

Most Improved Wrestler – Antonio Truesdle


Best All Around – Micah Hayes

Coaches Award – Breanna Horne, Rebecca Hinson


Most Attack Kills – Haley Faulkenberry

Most Defensive Digs – Lauren Rowell

Most Block Kills – Darby Threatt

Coaches Leadership Award – Tori Roberts, Summer Truesdale

All-Region – Lauren Rowell, Darby Threatt, Hannah Cobb, Tori Roberts, Haley Faulkenberry

Region Player of the Year – Haley Faulkenberry

All-State – Haley Faulkenberry

Region Coach of the Year – John Verdugo

Boys Basketball

MVP – Quadarius Fair

Coaches Award – Wade Eubanks

Best All-Around Player – Avalon Truesdale

Defensive Player of the Year – Cameron McIsaac

Offensive Player of the Year – Quadarius Fair

All-Region – Avalon Truesdale, Quadarius Fair

Girls Basketball

Coaches Award – Bre Wright, Halle Thompson

Offensive Player of the Year – Elizabeth Scott

Defensive Player of the Year – Dareisha Sowell

Lady Vols Award – McKenzie Horton

Super Sub Award – Anslee McDow

All-Region – Bre Wright, Dareisha Sowell, Elizabeth Scott

Region Player of the Year – Bre Wright

All-State – Bre Wright

1000 Point Club – Bre Wright, Dareisha Sowell

Region Coach of the Year – Dennis Farmer


Best Receiver – Quadarius Fair

Best Offensive Lineman Award – Dustin Faulkenberry

Best Offensive Back Award – Kolby Whitley

Best Defensive Lineman Award – William Cunningham

Best Defensive Back – Quadarius Fair

Best Linebacker Award – Tray King

Coach Chad Faulkenberry Award – Corley Faulkenberry

All-Region – Kolby Whitley, Quadarius Fair, Corley Faulkenberry, Luke Kennington, Dustin Faulkenberry, William Cunningham, Tray King, Zach Hinson

Bronko Nagurski Student Athlete of the Year Award Finalist by the Charlotte Touchdown Club – Cody Ussery